Can anyone write a book?

CC0 Image: Landscape With MeadowID: 83078068 © Creativecommonsstockphotos | Dreamstime Stock Photos
CC0 Image: Landscape With MeadowID: 83078068 © Creativecommonsstockphotos | Dreamstime Stock Photos

I say yes :)

I bet you are wondering why I would bring this subject up. I guess, I want you to know that you really can create a story. I think first you need to decide what kind of story you want to write. I will stick to romance right now :)

 

You see, you really should write about what you love. I love history whether it is through time travel or a historic era. If you read romance then write in romance. Oddly, I don't write in the category that I read.

 

One thing, keep it simple to start with. Let's say you like modern western romance. Start by picking the state you want your setting to be in, there are so many available from Arizona to the Dakotas. Will your romance be set on a ranch or in a town. Once you make these decisions we need to think about the main characters.

 

A little side note, you are building your story with each step you take in developing the makeup of your story. Allow, yes allow, yourself to see the images taking shape. See the ranch with fences, horses, cows and all the smaller buildings that help the ranch work. In town I see a parade with various horse and riders from the ranches about the area. There may be tribal groups from the reservation riding the paint horses they breed. I can feel the excitement in the crowd, my neighbors in the story.

 

Oh wait, I said "my neighbors" must be that I am getting into one of my main character's head. That is right, you see around you through their eyes and perception. She is me and I am her when I am writing or I could be in the hero's head, I do love to see it all through both sides. I want all the emotions and thoughts that make up their lives. Like right now he isn't watching the parade, he only sees her a new face in a small town and yet she looks familiar.

 

Chev watched  her long auburn hair float  on the breeze as her intense sky-blue eyes took in the passing covered wagon from times gone by. Her excitement felt contagious. He wondered if she would meet his shoulder, his hands would probably encircle her petite frame.

 

Oh my, he has a name and we know what she looks likes. As the story progresses we will find out a lot more about these two. For now try your imagination and see what takes shape, maybe you will see your hero meet his heart's desire.

 

Jewel

 

 

 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0