Summer is Fleeting!

Sometimes going back in time can be a wonderful experience. Four generations came together this week to make fudge. Not just any fudge but my Grandmother's fudge that must be worked on the marble.

The technique is one that has disappeared over the years, except to direct family members. My grandmother might not have been present but you would never believe it :)

Grammie used to have one of the very first candy shops on the island, called Orr's Island Candies. She only had my grandfather and one wonderful lady to help her make all her candies. It is nice to remember how things used to be, watching them work the fondants on the marble and hand dipping each individual piece in the hot rich dark chocolate. There were the fudges like we did the other day and peanut brittle, caramels and all the varieties. I believe there were over five different fudges, three caramels, nougat and well over thirty flavors of hand dipped chocolates.

It is a shame these techniques of real candy making have been lost; some advancement aren't always as good as the old way.

I am fortunate to have lived this part of our family history and experienced the art first hand. I've smelled the unique flavors like lemon that makes you mouth water and peppermint that will open yours sinus in a rush. The rich colors that come to life as the fondant is worked on the marble are marvelous to see.

My memories are warm and filled with love during a gentler life and sometimes I wish I could really turn back the hands of time and get lost in the past.

Jewel

Write a comment

Comments: 6
  • #1

    Alisia Priolo (Friday, 03 February 2017 09:24)


    Hi there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no data backup. Do you have any solutions to prevent hackers?

  • #2

    Albina Brin (Saturday, 04 February 2017 21:49)


    Hi there mates, its enormous piece of writing concerning educationand completely defined, keep it up all the time.

  • #3

    Brooke Sinha (Tuesday, 07 February 2017 01:55)


    Hi there Dear, are you in fact visiting this website regularly, if so after that you will absolutely obtain good know-how.

  • #4

    Annette Sharrow (Tuesday, 07 February 2017 02:41)


    Since the admin of this web site is working, no doubt very shortly it will be well-known, due to its feature contents.

  • #5

    Jenni Johnston (Thursday, 09 February 2017 20:06)


    Great items from you, man. I have take into account your stuff previous to and you are just extremely fantastic. I really like what you have obtained here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which in which you are saying it. You are making it enjoyable and you continue to take care of to keep it smart. I can't wait to read much more from you. This is really a wonderful web site.

  • #6

    Jewel (Friday, 10 February 2017 08:16)

    Thank you very much for the feed back, it is nice to know that people visit here. I am hoping that I can stay up with my blog now. I've been writing and switch my books over to a new publisher so we will see how it goes :)
    Jewel