Time Changes

© Olga Vasilkova | Dreamstime Stock Photos
© Olga Vasilkova | Dreamstime Stock Photos

I had a good laugh this morning over the time change.  I am not a fan of keeping the time change but my humor went a lot deeper.

Being back in Florida from Maine isn't something I thought about doing really. I'd best explain. 

You see I grew up in Clearwater, Florida on and off my entire life. When I was younger I worked as a waitress at many of the restaurants in this area. Most of this area, north and south of Clearwater, all depended on the migration of the "snow-birds".

I'm sure many know the meaning of a snow-bird, if not it refers to a person or persons that come to the south during the winter months. Much of the clientele that I waited on as a waitress were snow-birds. 

Most of these people were wonderful to serve and get to know. Others, well let's just say they were an unhappy lot.  We use to call Saint Petersburg the graveyard city and it was meant just as it sounds.

When you waited on these people you would put them in a not so nice category. I felt sorry for these people because they were so angry and carried that weight around in everything they did. I couldn't understand why  they left everything they knew and came south if it hurt that bad.

Other people that I worked with and I always said we would never be this way, never.

And here I am, a snow-bird. It really is laughable. Of course, I do understand now why we (snow-birds) come to the south. The reasons are simple.

What I told myself this morning, after my laughter stopped, is that I won't be in the category of an angry snow-bird. No, I am very happy to be here and will keep it that way. The warmth is beautiful even if time changes everything.


Write a comment

Comments: 0